Latest News Highlights

Ministry of Health of the Republic of Uganda issued a press statement about COVID19

Sunday, 8th March 2020
Minister of Health, Dr. Jane Ruth Aceng

Today the Ministry of Health issued a press statement noting that any traveler from Italy, Iran, South Korea, France, China,Germany, and Spain will be subjected to self-quarantine for 14 days on arrival to Uganda. More details are below, directly from the Ministry of Health Twitter account.

The Minister of Health, Jane Ruth Aceng updates public on Uganda enhanced measures to prevent the importation of COVID19. As of today, Uganda does NOT have any confirmed or suspected case of COVID19. 

People residing in the 7 countries; Italy, Iran, South Korea, France, China, Germany,and Spain should consider postponing non-essential travel to Uganda. 

Any traveler from these countries, including Ugandan nationals will be subjected to self quarantine for 14 days on arrival to Uganda even if they do not exhibit symptoms of COVID19. 

The Ministry of Health of Uganda will observe travelers from UK, Switzerland, Norway, Netherlands, Sweden, Belgium, India, and USA very closely and the evolution of the outbreak in these countries and advise on any restrictions in the coming weeks. 

Travelers from the rest of the countries will undergo the routine screening upon arrival and be advised accordingly on the measures to undertake while in country to prevent infection and where to report if not feeling well. 

The Ministry of Health would also like to inform the general public that all international conferences slated to take place in Uganda have temporarily been postponed due to the looming threat of COVID19. 

The World Health Organization country representative Yonas Tegegn reiterates that Uganda has NO confirmed or suspected case of COVID19.